Gluten free Chinese food

Are you wondering whether Chinese food is suitable for someone who is on a gluten free diet? Or maybe you are wondering which popular Chinese dishes are gluten free? Well then you are in the right place! In this article, we tell you everything you need to know about Chinese food and gluten.

We start out by talking about examples of Chinese dishes and ingredients that are gluten free. After that, we talk about Chinese dishes and ingredients that are not gluten free. We also take some time to discuss dishes that may or may not be gluten free. Finally, we discuss whether Chinese food is a good option for someone who is on a gluten free diet.

Gluten free Chinese food

Are you wondering what Chinese food is gluten free? In this section, we will discuss popular Chinese items that are gluten free. We will start out by discussing common ingredients that are used in Chinese cooking that are gluten free. After that, we will discuss common Chinese dishes that are gluten free.

Note that while the items discussed in this section are commonly gluten free, that does not mean that they will always be gluten free at all restaurants and stores. You should always check the allergen labels or consult with the chef to make sure that the specific item you plan to eat is gluten free.

Gluten free Chinese ingredients

What are some examples of Chinese ingredients that are gluten free? Here are some common ingredients that are used in Chinese cooking that are gluten free.

  • Vegetables (bok choy, cabbage, mushrooms, mustard greens, eggplant, snow peas)
  • Meats (chicken, pork, beef)
  • Tofu
  • Aromatics (garlic, ginger, onion, scallions leeks, shallots)
  • Chiles (dried chiles, fresh chiles)
  • Rice
  • Rice paper wrappers
  • Vermicelli noodles
  • Cornstarch
  • Rice vinegar
  • Sesame oil and sesame seeds
  • Sichuan peppercorns
  • Spices (five spice, white pepper, star anise)
  • Oil (vegetable, peanut)

Gluten free Chinese dishes

What are some examples of Chinese dishes that are gluten free? The sad truth is that there are not many dishes in Chinese cooking that are naturally gluten free. Many of the core ingredients that are used in Chinese cooking such as dumpling wrappers and egg noodles are largely wheat based. In addition to this, most sauces that are used in Chinese cooking contain soy sauce or other wheat based ingredients.

Chinese food that is not gluten free

And what are some examples of Chinese items that are not gluten free? In this section, we will discuss common examples of Chinese items that are not gluten free. We will start by discussing common ingredients that are used in Chinese cooking that are not gluten free. After that, we will discuss common examples of Chinese dishes that are not gluten free.

Note that while the dishes and ingredients we discuss in this article are not usually gluten free, that does not mean that gluten free versions of them do not exist. There may be some stores or restaurants that provide gluten free versions of these items and dishes.

Chinese ingredients that contain gluten

What are some examples of Chinese ingredients that are not gluten free? Here are some common examples of Chinese ingredients that are not gluten free.

  • Soy sauce (light soy sauce, dark soy sauce)
  • Oyster sauce
  • Hoisin
  • Chili bean sauce
  • Shaoxing rice wine (generally not gluten free)
  • Egg noodles
  • Egg roll wrappers
  • Dumpling wrappers
  • All purpose flour

Chinese dishes that contain gluten

What are some examples of Chinese dishes that are not gluten free? Here are some common examples of Chinese dishes that are not gluten free.

  • Dumplings, potstickers, and wontons
  • Hot pot
  • Chow mein
  • Kung pao chicken
  • Sweet and sour pork or chicken
  • Peking duck
  • Char siu
  • Ma Po Tofu
  • Wonton soup
  • Dan dan noodles
  • Scallion pancakes
  • Fried rice
  • Egg rolls
  • General tso’s chicken, orange chicken, and sesame chicken
  • Crab rangoon
  • Fortune cookies

Chinese food that may or may not be gluten free

What are some examples of Chinese food that may or may not be gluten free? Even if you are able to find a dish at a Chinese restaurant that is not made with any ingredients that have gluten, that does not necessarily mean that the dish will be entirely gluten free. Since so many Chinese dishes and sauces contain gluten, it is common for trace amounts of gluten to be scattered all across Chinese kitchens. That means that even dishes that are made with gluten free ingredients are likely to contain trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination.

Is Chinese food suitable for a gluten free diet

Is Chinese food suitable for someone who is on a gluten free diet? In general, Chinese food is not a great option for someone who is on a gluten free diet. Most of the sauces that are used in Chinese cooking contain gluten. In addition to this, many of the ingredients that are used in Chinese cooking also contain gluten.

If you want to go to a Chinese restaurant with someone who maintains a gluten free diet, you should make sure to look for a Chinese restaurant that specifically caters to gluten free diets. There are some Chinese restaurants that use gluten free soy sauce and sauces in their cooking. These restaurants are more appropriate for those who are on a gluten free diet.

Gluten free Chinese Restaurants

Are you looking for examples of Chinese restaurants that offer a variety of gluten free options? Here are some of our favorite Chinese restaurants with gluten free options.

Gluten free Chinese recipes

Related articles

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *