Gluten free tabbouleh

Share with your friends & family!

Are you looking for a simple tabbouleh recipe that is gluten free? Well then you are in the right place! In this article, we tell you everything you need to know to make gluten free tabbouleh that is just as fresh and flavorful as regular tabbouleh. We also provide tips on what substitutions do and do not work well when making tabbouleh.

A white and blue bowl with gluten free tabbouleh in it. The tabbouleh is fully mixed and ready to eat. The tabbouleh is pictured from the side.

Is tabbouleh gluten free?

Is all tabbouleh gluten free? No, most types of tabbouleh are not gluten free. That is because tabbouleh is traditionally made with wheat bulgur as one of the main ingredients. Wheat bulgur is made from wheat, so it is not gluten free.

How do you make tabbouleh gluten free

So what do you need to do if you want to make a tabbouleh recipe that is gluten free? The only ingredient that you need to exclude if you want to make gluten free tabbouleh is the wheat bulgur. None of the other ingredients that are typically used to make tabbouleh contain gluten.

You have a few options when it comes to modifying tabbouleh recipes to make them gluten free. The first option is to exclude the wheat bulgur from the recipe entirely and not replace it with another grain. The second option is to replace it with another similarly sized grain. In this recipe, we replace the wheat bulgur with quinoa.

A clear glass bowl with all of the ingredients for gluten free tabbouleh in it. The ingredients are chopped but not mixed.

What is in gluten free tabbouleh?

What is in this gluten free tabbouleh? Here are all of the ingredients you need to make gluten free tabbouleh.

  • Curly parsley. The first ingredient that you need to make gluten free tabbouleh is curly parsley. Curly parsley is the main ingredient that is used in this gluten free tabbouleh and it gives tabbouleh its signature flavor. You should specifically look for curly parsley rather than flat parsley. More on this later.
  • Mint. Curly parsley is not the only fresh herb that is used to make this gluten free tabbouleh. A little bit of mint is added to the curly parsley to diversify the flavor.
  • Quinoa. The next ingredient you need to make gluten free tabbouleh is quinoa. If you have a gluten intolerance then you should make sure to use a type of quinoa that is labeled as gluten free because many types of quinoa are cross-contaminated with wheat. Lundberg is a great brand that makes quinoa that is certified gluten free, such as this fun tri-color quinoa.
  • Tomatoes. The next ingredient you need to make tabbouleh is tomatoes. For best results, you should deseed the tomatoes before you use them. Only the outer parts of the tomatoes should be put into the tabbouleh. The more flavorful tomatoes you can use in your tabbouleh, the better your tabbouleh will taste.
  • Onions. The next ingredient you need to make gluten free tabbouleh is onions. Raw onions are diced into small pieces and added to the tabbouleh. You should cut the onions into small pieces to avoid getting a mouthful of raw onion. For best results, you should use an onion with a milder flavor such as a red onion or a sweet onion.
  • Garlic. Some raw garlic is also used in this recipe for gluten free tabbouleh. For best results, you should dice the garlic into small pieces so that you do not gar a mouth full of raw garlic.
  • Olive oil. Olive oil is another key ingredient that is used to make this gluten free tabbouleh. The rich flavor of the olive oil counterbalances the slightly bitter flavor of the parsley. For best results you should use a smooth, buttery olive oil like this California olive ranch olive oil. If you use a strongly flavored olive oil, it may overpower the other flavors in the tabbouleh.
  • Lemon juice. Lemon juice is also used in this recipe for gluten free tabbouleh. The lemon juice adds a little bit of acidity that brightens up the flavor of the tabbouleh.
  • Salt & pepper. Finally, some salt and pepper are added to finish the tabbouleh off.
A white and blue bowl with gluten free tabbouleh in it. The tabbouleh is fully mixed and ready to eat. The tabbouleh is pictured from an aerial view.

Can you make tabbouleh with flat parsley?

Can you make tabbouleh with flat parsley rather than curly parsley? We recommend making tabbouleh with curly parsley if at all possible. This is because curly parsley generally has a more mild flavor than flat parsley. If you use flat parsley, it may overwhelm all of the other ingredients in this recipe.

How to make tabbouleh ahead of time?

Can you make tabbouleh ahead of time and serve it later on? The answer to that question is a big fat YES! Tabbouleh tastes the best when it is left to rest a little because then all of the flavors have time to meld together. We actually recommend that you let tabbouleh sit for at least 30 minutes after making it even if you do not need to do so for logistical reasons.

How to store leftover tabbouleh

How do you store leftover tabbouleh? Leftover tabbouleh should be stored in the refrigerator in an airtight food storage container. If stored in an airtight container, leftover tabbouleh will keep for up to 3 days.

The amount of time that tabbouleh will keep in the fridge is directly related to the freshness of the ingredients that are used to make it. If you make your tabbouleh with super fresh ingredients, then it may last more than 3 days. If you make your tabbouleh with ingredients that are already on their way out the door, then it may last for fewer than 3 days.

How to make tabbouleh better

Are you looking for tips on how to make your go-to tabbouleh recipe even better? Here are the best ways to improve any tabbouleh recipes.

  • Use fresh ingredients. Tabbouleh is one of those recipes that is packed with fresh ingredients and flavors. Our first tip for improving the flavor of your tabbouleh recipe is to use fresh and flavorful ingredients whenever possible.
  • Chop the ingredients smaller. The next way you can improve your tabbouleh recipe is by cutting the ingredients into smaller pieces. The smaller you chop your ingredients before you put them into your tabbouleh, the more different flavors you will get in each bite. We recommend using a sharp chef’s knife such as this Victorinox chef’s knife to chop your ingredients. This will ensure that you are able to chop all of the ingredients into small enough pieces.
  • Let the tabbouleh sit before serving. Finally, we recommend that you let your tabbouleh sit in the refrigerator for at least 30 minute before serving it. This provides time for all of the flavors in the tabbouleh to start to blend together and enhances the flavor of the tabbouleh.

Gluten free tabbouleh

This fresh tabbouleh recipe is made with quinoa rather than wheat bulgur so that it is entirely gluten free. All you have to do to make this simple tabbouleh recipe is chop all of the ingredients and mix them together. It doesn't get much easier than that!
Prep Time15 mins
Cook Time15 mins
Total Time30 mins
Course: Appetizer, Side Dish, Snack
Cuisine: Mediterranean
Diet: Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian
Keyword: dairy free, egg free, gluten free, nut free, vegan, vegetarian
Servings: 3 cups

Ingredients

  • 2 cups curly parsley (chopped, packed)
  • 1/2 cup diced tomato (about 2 large tomatoes)
  • 1/4 cup diced onion (about 1/8 of an onion)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp fresh mint (chopped, packed)
  • 1/4 cup dried quinoa
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Instructions

  • Cook the quinoa according to the instructions on the package.
    While the quinoa cooks, you can move on to the next step.
  • Chop all of the ingredients for tabbouleh.
  • When the quinoa is done cooking, combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl. Mix the ingredients well.
  • For best results, we recommend covering the tabbouleh and letting it rest in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes before eating it. That being said, you can also eat the tabbouleh immediately if you are hungry.

Notes

1/2 cooked quinoa
decent

Substitutions for gluten free tabbouleh

  • Lemon juice. Lemon juice is our preferred acid that we use to make tabbouleh. However, red wine vinegar will also work in a pinch. If you are going to use red wine vinegar, we recommend starting out with a little less that 2 tsp of vinegar then adjusting the amount to taste.

Other recipes you will love

Related articles


Share with your friends & family!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Recipe Rating